Susan Swartzburg Award

Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award

This award honors the memory of a librarian whose leadership in New Jersey inspired and influenced many others in our profession, particularly in the areas of preservation of library materials, archives, and the book arts.


The History and Preservation Section may confer this award annually on an individual NJLA member in recognition of his / her statewide leadership and dedication to the preservation or interpretation of archival, library, or historical materials.
The nominee should exhibit one or more of the following qualities:
Leadership - Examples of this would include: support for funding of conservation projects; promoting education of conservation issues; and increasing the visibility of archival / history materials.
Creativity - Examples of this would include: developing new and interesting methods of interpretation through exhibits,  programs, lectures, and publications.
Commitment - Examples of this would include: building an impressive body of work at one or more institutions in the areas of conservation, archives, and / or historical fields; and exhibiting knowledge of and concern for the basic principles of preservation over time.


Please complete or prepare facsimile with same information to:

Tom Ankner, Chair NJLA History & Preservation Section Awards Committee at: [email protected]

Tom Ankner, Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center
Newark Public Library
5 Washington St.
PO Box 630
Newark, NJ 07101

Thursday, February 1, 2020
Past winners of this award include:
2003 - Elsalyn Palmisano
2004 - Ralph Ocker
2005 - Elizabeth "Betty" Steckman
2006 - Gary Saretzky
2007 - Joseph DaRold
2008 - Susan Gulick
2009 - Peggy Norris
2010 - Michele Stricker 
2011 - Miriam Kornblatt
2013 - Frederic C. Pachman
2014 - Tim Corlis
2015 - Deborah Mercer
2016 – Robert Stewart
2017 - Sarah Hull
2018 - Chad Leinaweaver