NJLA Librarian of the Year

NJLA Librarian of the Year

Dedicated, knowledgeable, and creative librarians are the key to the success of libraries in New Jersey. The NJLA Librarian of the Year Award was created to recognize exemplary recent achievements by a New Jersey Librarian making a significant contribution at any level of librarianship.

The Librarian of the Year serves as a role model, enhancing the image of librarianship and advancing the positive visibility of libraries to the community. The Librarian of the Year is willing to serve as an enthusiastic spokesperson for librarianship in general and to speak at the NJLA conferences.


Successful candidate must:

  1. Hold an MLS degree or be a certified school/media specialist
  2. Be a current NJLA member
  3. Have made a significant contribution by:
    • Demonstrating the value of libraries
    • Actively participating in NJLA and other New Jersey library organizations
    • Enhancing the image of librarians and/or libraries
    • Promoting an accessible and positive climate in the library
    • Advancing community relations
    • Initiating a new library service or program
    • Publishing a book or article of national importance that advances the prominence of librarianship
  4. Enjoy public speaking and be willing to make appearances on behalf of NJLA

Use the online submission form to upload a one-page statement in support of your nomination. https://forms.gle/4BPbGVvcfnqDuYKv9

  • The candidate will be selected on the basis of outstanding achievement in the majority of the above-listed criteria.
  • Self-nominations and nominations by colleagues are invited.
  • The Honors & Awards Committee Chair will select a group of three to five of the most recent previous Librarians of the Year who are current and active members of NJLA to form the Selection Committee. This Committee will make the final decision from nominations presented. The award will be bestowed at the annual NJLA Conference. The winner will be notified ahead of time. The recipient’s name is kept confidential until the announcement is made at the conference.
Friday, March 31, 2023



2022 Ralph Bingham III, LibraryLinkNJ

2021 Keisha Miller, South Orange Public Library

2020 Doug Baldwin, Piscataway Public Library

2019 Sharon Rawlins, New Jersey State Library

2018 Mi-Sun Lyu, LibraryLinkNJ

2017 Leslie Burger, Library Development Solutions

2016 Tonya Garcia, Long Branch Public Library

2015 Heidi Cramer, Newark Public Library

2014 Cheryl McBride, North Brunswick Public Library

2013 Leslie Kahn, Newark Public Library

2012 James Keehbler, Piscataway Public Library

2011 Irene Goldberg, Monroe Township Public Library

2010 Joseph Da Rold, Plainfield Public Library

2009 Cheryl O’Connor, Infolink

2008 Carol Nersinger, East Brunswick Public Library

2007 Joanne Roukens, HRLC

2006 Bonnie Kunzel, NJ State Library

2005 Kathy Schalk-Greene, Mount Laurel Public Library

2004 Robert Lackie, Rider University

2003 Cindy Czesak, Paterson Public Library

2002 Connie Paul, CJRLC

2001 Claudia Sumler, Camden County

2000 Jeanne Robbana, Vineland Public University

1999 Norma Blake, Burlington County

1998 Carol Kolb Phillips, East Brunswick Public Library

1997 Karen Avenick, Camden County

1996 Karen Hyman, SJRLC

1995 Caren Brown, West Orange Public Library

1994 Elaine McConnell, Ocean County

1993 Lori McConnell, Irvington Public Library